Top Bar

Off-Canvas

Theology

Theology Department Vision Statement

The Theology Department, in light of our world’s growing ecological and humanitarian crises and with a view towards a cosmology that examines the human place in God’s creation, is committed to a curriculum that nurtures each student’s individual spiritual growth and promotes a sustainable global society, universal human rights, economic justice, and a culture of peace. As people of faith, our work is guided by Gospel principles, Catholic Social Teaching, and the charism of the Sisters of the Holy Names of Jesus and Mary.

Faculty:


Sister Carol Higgins, SNJM, Department Chair | carol.higgins@smapdx.org

  • D. Min. Washington Theological Union
  • M. Div. Marylhurst University
  • M. Ed. University of Portland
  • BA Religious Studies, Gonzaga University

    Maria Fleming '83 | maria.fleming@smapdx.org

    • St. Mary's Academy Alumna
    • BA Spanish Language and Literature, Santa Clara University
    • M.Div., University of Notre Dame
    • M.Ed. Curriculum and Instruction Methods, Concordia University

    James Haster | jim.haster@smapdx.org

    • BA Theology, Creighton University
    • MA Theological Studies, University of New York
    • M.Th Theology, University of New York

    Daniel Hemmen | daniel.hemmen@smapdx.org

    • BS Theology, University of Portland

    Randy Kollars, Campus Minister | randy.kollars@smapdx.org

    • BS Business Administration /Marketing, California State University at Sacramento
    • MA Pastoral Studies, Regis University, Denver

    Margaret (Meg) O'Brien | meg.obrien@smapdx.org

    • BA Political Science, Boston College
    • MAT Education, Lewis & Clark College

    Maura Timoney-Deville '09, Director of Retreats-Campus Ministry | maura.timoney@smapdx.org

    • St. Mary's Academy Alumna
    • BS International Health, Georgetown University

    Caitlin Whitty '08, Service Coordinator | caitlin.whitty@smapdx.org

    • St. Mary's Academy Alumna
    • BA History, Clark Honors College, University of Oregon