Top Bar

Off-Canvas

Social Science

Social Science Department Vision Statement

The Social Sciences Department endeavors to nurture student curiosity about the past and present so as to lead them to make informed and creative decisions in a diverse and changing world. Through questioning, research, analysis, and communication of ideas we help students understand and engage in a lifelong exploration of the human condition.

Faculty:


Joan Nyland '78, Department Chair | joan.nyland@smapdx.org

  • St. Mary's Academy Alumna
  • BA History, University of Oregon
  • MA Education, University of Michigan

Matthew Vannelli | matthew.vannelli@smapdx.org

  • BA Environmental Studies, Ecological Anthropology, Binghamton University
  • MAT Secondary Education, Binghamton University

Alexa Duda | alexa.duda@smapdx.org

  • BS Secondary Education, University of Portland
  • M.Ed. Educational Leadership, University of Portland

Donald Housley | donald.housley@smapdx.org

  • BA History, Portland State University
  • MST Social Studies, Portland State University

Alexis Lund | alexis.lund@smapdx.org

  • BS Mathematics (minor in History), Montana State University
  • M.Ed Curriculum and Instruction: Social Studies, Concordia University

Ian Park | ian.park@smapdx.org

  • BS Political Science and Middle East Studies, University of Oregon
  • MAT Education, Concordia University