Top Bar

Off-Canvas

Math


Math Department Vision Statement

The Math Department facilitates the development of effective problem-solvers and flexible, critical thinkers. We work to construct a foundation of skills and understanding which will result in mathematically confident young women who have broader options for the future.

Faculty:


Mary Clare Metscher, Department Chair | maryclare.metscher@smapdx.org

  • BS Secondary Education, Advance Mathematics Endorsement
  • MS Mathematics Education for Teachers

Ellen Tevik | ellen.tevik@smapdx.org

  • BA Mathematics, University of Oregon
  • MAT Advanced Math, Oregon State University

Cynthia Berger | cynthia.berger@smapdx.org

  • BS Mathematics, Montana State University
  • M.Ed Math Education, Eastern Washington University

Brian Kelley | brian.kelley@smapdx.org

  • BA Religion, College of William and Mary
  • MAT Mathematics, Concordia University

Rachel Gardner | rachel.gardner@smapdx.org

  • BA Math, Gonzaga University
  • BA Spanish, Gonzaga University
  • MAT Teaching, Concordia University

Doug Howe | doug.howe@smapdx.org

  • BA Business Management, East Stroudsburg University
  • BS Mechanical Engineering, Portland State University
  • M.Ed, Portland State University

Luke Donahue | luke.donahue@smapdx.org

  • BA Mathematics, Lewis & Clark College
  • BA Physics, Lewis & Clark College


Why CPM?

Some might say that in a perfect world, no one would struggle with mathematics. We disagree! In a perfect world everyone enjoys a good struggle, realizing that with struggle comes learning as well a sense of accomplishment and pride. Mathematics should not frustrate anyone to the point of giving up, but beckon the learner with the challenge of a potential solution to a difficult problem.

We believe the beauty of mathematics should be visible and enjoyed by all. We understand that some people may not see the beauty yet, and might need guidance to gain the appreciation for mathematics we want everyone to have. Mathematics has the capacity to mesmerize and dazzle with its dance between complexity and simplicity. We believe everyone should delight in this dance.

Mathematics is not just a “pretty face” however! Mathematics is useful. It is the language of the sciences and of life. From the mathematical modeling of the growth of a colony of bacteria to the mathematics that explains the physics of an airplane’s flight, math permeates our lives. The landscaper who needs to know the amount of mulch to cover the garden spaces and the school cafeteria chef who needs to calculate a recipe for 400 students, both use mathematics to be successful. Daily, people use the power of mathematics to explain, explore, conjecture, test, and prove. The uses of mathematics are boundless.

St. Mary’s goal is to ensure that every student experiences both the beauty and the utility of mathematics.

For more information, visit www.cpm.org