Top Bar

Off-Canvas

Faculty/Staff Directory

 

Faculty and staff may be contacted by phone at 503.228.8306 or via email addresses below. You may also send email to info@smapdx.org. Please address the subject line to the specific person.

Departments

Administration

Faculty

Student Leadership and Activities
Athletics
Counseling
English
Fine Arts
World Language
Information Science
Mathematics
Physical Education and Health
Theology
Science
Social Science

Staff

Office Support
Attendance
Registrar
Admissions
Communications
Development/Alumnae
Finance
Maintenance
Food Services
 


St. Mary's Academy Administrative Team

 

Christina Friedhoff, President | chris.friedhoff@smapdx.org

  • BS Psychology, Lewis & Clark College

Nicole Foran, Principal | nicole.foran@smapdx.org

  • BA English, California State University
  • M.Ed. Portland State University

Patty Gorman, Dean of Students | patty.gorman@smapdx.org

  • BA Religious Studies, Gonzaga University

Emily Niedermeyer Becker '86, Vice President for Development | emily.becker@smapdx.org

  • SMA Alumna
  • BA Politics, Whitman College

Liane Rae, Assistant Principal of Curriculum Design and Instruction | liane.rae@smapdx.org

  • BS General Science, Portland State University
  • MEd, Marylhurst University
  • Oregon AFA STEM Teacher of the Year 2015
  • Apple Distinguished Educator 2015
  • Henry Ford Foundation Teacher Educator 2016
  • PBS Oregon Digital Innovator 2015

Michele Taylor, Dean of Student Leadership and Activities | michele.taylor@smapdx.org

  • BS Sports Science and Program Management, Colorado State University
  • MA Public Administration, Portland State University

Tim Fleishman, Vice President of Strategic Initiatives and Business Development | timothy.fleischmann@smapdx.org

  • BS Accounting, Portland State University
  • Certified Public Accountant - State of Oregon 1987

 

St. Mary's Academy Faculty


Student Leadership and Activities

Jessica Acee, Director of Student Leadership and Activities| jessica.acee@smapdx.org

  • BA International Studies, Portland State University

Dr. Da Verne S. Bell, Director of Equity and Inclusion | daverne.bell@smapdx.org

  • Doctorate, Educational Leadership (Ed.D), Seattle University
  • Masters Public Service/Administration (M.A.), Seattle University
  • Psychology (B.A.), Seattle University
  • Immaculate Conception High School (SNJM) Seattle, Alumna
 

Athletics

Anna Maria Lopez '78, Athletic Director | annamaria.lopez@smapdx.org

  • St. Mary's Academy Alumna
  • BA Physical Education, University of Southern California
  • MA Teaching, Portland State University
  • 2001 Oregon 4A Athletic Director of the Year
  • 2001 Oregon Athletic Coaches 4A Female Coach of the Year
  • 2003 St. Mary's Academy Award Recipient
  • 2009 Inducted into Oregon Sports Hall of Fame
  • 2012 Inducted into the CYO Hall of Fame
  • 2016 Oregon Sports Award Game Changer Award Recipient
  • 2017 Oregon 6A Athletic Director of the Year
  • 2018 NIAAA (National Athletic Administrators Association) State Award of Merit

 

Counseling Department

Anne Hagge, Director of Student and Academic Support | anne.hagge@smapdx.org

  • BSW, Portland State University
  • MSW, Portland State University

Robin Eisenbach, Personal and Academic Counselor | robin.eisenbach@smapdx.org

  • BS Psychology, University of Oregon
  • MSW, Portland State University

Elaine Forde, College Counselor | elaine.forde@smapdx.org

  • BA Education, Oregon State University
  • MS School Counseling, Portland State University
  • Administration Certificates, Lewis and Clark College

Lexi Marquardt, Personal and Academic Counselor | lexi.marquardt@smapdx.org

  • BA Human Development, California State University San Marcos
  • MSW Social Work, California State University San Marcos

Heather Murphy, Personal and Academic Counselor| heather.murphy@smapdx.org

  • BA Art Therapy, Emmanuel College
  • MSW Social Work, Simmons College

Carolyn Gazeley, Department Chair and College Counselor | carolyn.gazeley@smapdx.org

  • BA, Economics and Psychology, Claremont McKenna College
  • MBA, Stanford University Graduate School of Business
  • Certificate in College Counseling, University of California at Los Angeles

Karlen Suga, College Counselor | karlen.suga@smapdx.org

  • BA Communication, University of Hawai’i at Hilo
  • MS Student Affairs in Higher Education, Colorado State University

Erica Wells, College Counseling Assistant | erica.wells@smapdx.org

  • BA Government and International Studies, University of Notre Dame
  • MA Interdisciplinary Studies, Marylhurst University

Christine Moller, Academic Support Center Teacher | chris.moller@smapdx.org

  • BA, German, Math Ed., Purdue University
  • National Honor Society Tutoring Coordinator

 

English Department

Anne Hainley, Department Co-Chair | anne.hainley@smapdx.org

  • Program of Liberal Studies, University of Notre Dame
  • M.Ed., University of Notre Dame

Kirk Ellis, Department Co-Chair| kirk.ellis@smapdx.org

  • BS Theatre Arts, Portland State University
  • MA English, Portland State University
  • M.Ed., Portland State University

Mary Maeve Barrett | mary.barrett@smapdx.org

  • BA English, Mansfield University
  • BA Women’s Studies, Mansfield University
  • Education certification, Mansfield University

Alison Gaines '09 | alison.gaines@smapdx.org

  • SMA Alumna
  • BA Creative Writing and Music, Knox College
  • MFA Creative Writing, University of Florida
  • Escribe Maria Advisor

Carrie Housley | carrie.housley@smapdx.org

  • BA English, Willamette University
  • MA English, University of Washington

Ben Peterson | ben.peterson@smapdx.org

  • BA English and the Classics, University of Oregon
  • MA Classics, University of Oregon

Camille Vincent | camille.vincent@smapdx.org

  • BA English and Education Studies, University of Oregon
  • MAT, Lewis and Clark College

Ashley Whitty '02 | ashley.whitty@smapdx.org

  • St. Mary's Academy Alumna
  • BA English, University of Oregon
  • MAT Secondary Education in English, Lewis and Clark College
  • MA English, Portland State University

 

Fine Arts Department

Kathy Briggs, Department Chair | kathy.briggs@smapdx.org

  • MA Music Education, University of St. Thomas
  • BA Music Education, University of Wisconsin
  • Director, Marian Singers

Jordan Beck | jordan.beck@smapdx.org

  • BFA Theatre, Pacific Lutherin University
  • MAT Theatre Education, University of South Carolina

Sarah Brown | sarah.brown@smapdx.org

  • BFA Sculpture, Columbia College Chicago
  • MAT Visual Arts Education, Lewis & Clark College

Travis Hatton | travis.hatton@smapdx.org

  • BA Music Theory and Composition, University of the Pacific
  • MM Orchestral Conduction, New England Conservatory of Music
  • DA Music, Ball State University

Molly Kaplan | molly.kaplan@smapdx.org

  • BFA Printmaking, Pacific Northwest College of Art
  • MAT Visual Arts Education, Lews and Clark College

Ashley McCullar | ashley.mccullar@smapdx.org

  • BFA Piano Performance, Carnegie Mellon
  • MM Conducting, Portland State University

Shannon More | shannon.more@smapdx.org

  • BA, Carroll College
  • MFA Directing, Minnesota State University
  • Theatre Director

Jessica Zoller | jessica.zoller@smapdx.org

  • BFA Dance Performance and Choreography, Western Washing University
  • MFA Dance, University of Oregon

 

World Language Department

Shannon Sonn, Department Chair | shannon.sonn@smapdx.org

  • BA English Literature, Georgetown University
  • MA American Studies, Columbia University

Maron Faulkner | maron.faulkner@smapdx.org

  • BA French, Colorado College
  • MA French, New York University

Ben Peterson | ben.peterson@smapdx.org

  • BA English and the Classics, University of Oregon
  • MA Classics, University of Oregon

Art Rojas | art.rojas@smapdx.org

  • BA Spanish, Whitman College

Dena Stock-Marquez | dena.stock-marquez@smapdx.org

  • BA Spanish, Portland State University
  • MAT Spanish, Portland State University

Marsi Thelin | marsi.thelin@smapdx.org

  • BA French, University of Oregon
  • MA French, University of California, Santa Barbara

 

Information Science Department

Ellie Gilbert, Department Chair | ellie.gilbert@smapdx.org

  • B.S. Interdisciplinary Studies, Lubbock Christian University
  • M.Ed., Lewis & Clark College

Michael Bojorquez, Network and Systems Administrator | mike.bojorquez@smapdx.org

  • BS Social Science, Portland State University

Brette Doyle, Technology Director | brette.doyle@smapdx.org

  • Microsoft Certified Professional
  • I3 Certified Systems Administrator
  • United States Army Veteran
  • Electrical Engineering, Colorado School of Mines
  • Business Information Systems and Computer Science, University of Idaho

Alexa Duda | alexa.duda@smapdx.org

  • BS Secondary Education, University of Portland
  • M.Ed. Educational Leadership, University of Portland

 

Mathematics Department

Mary Clare Metscher, Department Chair | maryclare.metscher@smapdx.org

  • BS Secondary Education, Advance Mathematics Endorsement
  • MS Mathematics Education for Teachers

Cynthia Berger | cynthia.berger@smapdx.org

  • BS Mathematics, Montana State University
  • M.Ed Math Education, Eastern Washington University

Kevin Frank | kevin.frank@smapdx.org

  • BS Mathematics, Azusa Pacific University

Rachel Gardner | rachel.gardner@smapdx.org

  • BA Math, Gonzaga University
  • BA Spanish, Gonzaga University
  • MAT Teaching, Concordia University

Brian Kelley | brian.kelley@smapdx.org

  • BA Religion, College of William and Mary
  • MAT Mathematics, Concordia University

Christina Sanders | christina.sanders@smapdx.org

  • BS Mathematics, University of Notre Dame

Ellen Tevik | ellen.tevik@smapdx.org

  • BA Mathematics, University of Oregon
  • MAT Advanced Math, Oregon State University

 

Physical Education and Health Department

Carrie Yerton, Department Chair | carrie.yerton@smapdx.org

  • BS Kinesiology, Humboldt State University
  • MAT, Concordia University
  • Certified Strength and Conditioning Specialist, NSCA
  • 200-Hour Yoga Teacher Training Certified

Niki Brooks | niki.brooks@smapdx.org

  • BS Physical Activity/Exercise, Portland State University
  • M.Ed, Portland State University

Jamie Gabbert | jamie.gabbert@smapdx.org

  • BS Physical Education, St. Cloud State University
  • Certified Strength and Conditioning Specialist, CSCS

 

Theology Department

James Haster, Department Chair | jim.haster@smapdx.org

  • BA Theology, Creighton University
  • MA Theological Studies, Maryknoll
  • M.Th Theology, Maryknoll

Dana Dominguez | dana.dominguez@smapdx.org

  • BA Theology, University of Portland
  • MA Pastoral Theology, Loyola Marymount University

Maria Fleming '83 | maria.fleming@smapdx.org

  • St. Mary's Academy Alumna
  • BA Spanish Language and Literature, Santa Clara University
  • M.Div., University of Notre Dame
  • M.Ed. Curriculum and Instruction Methods, Concordia University

Randy Kollars, Campus Minister | randy.kollars@smapdx.org

  • BS Business Administration /Marketing, California State University at Sacramento
  • MA Pastoral Studies, Regis University, Denver

Margaret (Meg) O'Brien | meg.obrien@smapdx.org

  • BA Political Science, Boston College
  • MAT Education, Lewis & Clark College

Maura Timoney-Deville '09, Director of Retreats-Campus Ministry | maura.timoney@smapdx.org

  • St. Mary's Academy Alumna
  • BS International Health, Georgetown University
  • MA Theology and Leadership, Gonzaga University

Erica Wells | erica.wells@smapdx.org

  • BA Government and International Studies, University of Notre Dame
  • MA Interdisciplinary Studies, Marylhurst University

Caitlin Whitty '08, Service Coordinator | caitlin.whitty@smapdx.org

  • St. Mary's Academy Alumna
  • BA History, Clark Honors College, University of Oregon

 

Science Department

Julia Stadler, Department Chair | julia.stadler@smapdx.org

  • BA Chemistry, Rice University
  • MS, Chemistry, University of California, Berkeley
  • MAT, Pacific University

Maureen Daschel '77 | maureen.daschel@smapdx.org

  • St. Mary's Academy Alumna
  • BS Science, Oregon State University
  • MAT Science, Lewis & Clark College
  • TIES Adviser

Anu Deshpande | anu.deshpandel@smapdx.org

  • BS Biochemistry, University of Bombay
  • MS Biochemistry, University of Bombay
  • PhD, Biochemistry, University of Bombay
  • MA, Education, Boston University

Cindi Hounton | cindi.hounton@smapdx.org

  • BA Chemistry, Portland State University
  • MA Education, University of New Mexico

Mimi Loser | mimi.loser@smapdx.org

  • BA Chemistry and Music, Williams College
  • MA Education, Portland State University
  • Ph.D Chemistry, Northwestern University

Rachel Sloan | rachel.sloan@smapdx.org

  • BA Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Lewis & Clark College
  • MAT, Lewis & Clark College

 

Social Science Department

Joan Nyland '78, Department Chair | joan.nyland@smapdx.org

  • St. Mary's Academy Alumna
  • BA History, University of Oregon
  • MA Education, University of Michigan

Alexa Duda | alexa.duda@smapdx.org

  • BS Secondary Education, University of Portland
  • M.Ed. Educational Leadership, University of Portland

Donald Housley | donald.housley@smapdx.org

  • BA History, Portland State University
  • MST Social Studies, Portland State University

Alexis Lund | alexis.lund@smapdx.org

  • BS Mathematics (minor in History), Montana State University
  • M.Ed Curriculum and Instruction: Social Studies, Concordia University

Ian Park | ian.park@smapdx.org

  • BS Political Science and Middle East Studies, University of Oregon
  • MAT Education, Concordia University

Matthew Vannelli | matthew.vannelli@smapdx.org

  • BA Environmental Studies, Ecological Anthropology, Binghamton University
  • MAT Secondary Education, Binghamton University

 

St. Mary's Academy Staff


Office Support

Kate Alvord, Front Office & Special Projects | kate.alvord@smapdx.org

  • BA Psychology & Communications, Willamette University
  • MAT Secondary Education, Willamette University

McKenzie D’Ambrosio, Front Office & Student Activities Coordinator | mckenzie.dambrosio@smapdx.org

  • B Ed. Special Education, Gonzaga University

 

Registrar's Office

Liz Olsen, Registrar | liz.olsen@smapdx.org

  • Holy Names Academy (Seattle) Alumna
  • BA Political Science, Seattle Pacific University

 

Admissions Office

Jennifer Bash, Director of Admissions | jen.bash@smapdx.org

  • BA Chemistry, Whittier College

Kelsey Hui '10, Admissions Coordinator | kelsey.hui@smapdx.org

  • St. Mary's Academy Alumna
  • BA Communication Studies, University of San Francisco

 

Marketing & Communications

Jennifer Masi '94, Director of Marketing and Communications | jennifer.masi@smapdx.org

  • St. Mary's Academy Alumna
  • BA Political Science, University of Washington
  • MA Marketing & Management, University of Massachusetts

Natalie Nielsen '15, Assistant Director of Marketing and Communications | natalie.nielsen@smapdx.org

  • St. Mary's Academy Alumna
  • BA Communication, Regis University
  • BA Peace & Justice Studies, Regis University

     

Development/Alumnae

Emily Niedermeyer Becker '86, Vice President for Development | emily.becker@smapdx.org

  • St. Mary's Academy Alumna
  • BA Politics, Whitman College

Coralynn Arrigotti '83, Director of Leadership Giving | coralynn.arrigotti@smapdx.org

  • St. Mary's Academy Alumna
  • BS Communications, Portland State University

Hilary Baker, Director of Special Events | hilary.baker@smapdx.org

  • BS History, Portland State University
  • MA Teaching, Lewis and Clark College

Kate Baldwin, Director of Major Gifts | kate.baldwin@smapdx.org

  • BA Sociology, Linfield College

Kendall Marriott, Director of Annual Giving | kendall.murphy@smapdx.org

  • BA Sociology, University of Colorado, Boulder

Annie Diess, Development Associate | annie.diess@smapdx.org

  • BA Business Administration, Santa Clara University

Bryce Magorian, Assistant Director of Advancement Services | bryce.magorian@smapdx.org

  • BA Creative Writing, Pacific University

Paige Silverston, Associate Director of Special Events | paige.silverston@smapdx.org

  • BA Art, University of Oregon

Michael Scott, Development Database Manager | michael.scott@smapdx.org

  • BA English, Virginia Commonwealth University

 

Office of the President

Corey Kehoe '75, Executive Assistant to the President | corey.kehoe@smapdx.org

  • St. Mary's Academy Alumna

 

Human Resources

Kari Forrer, Director of Human Resources | kari.forrer@smapdx.org

  • BS Human Resources, Portland State University

 

Finance Office

Emily Stotts, Director of Finance | emily.stotts@smapdx.org

  • BS Accounting, Linfield College

 

Maintenance Department

Steve Schramm, Plant Manager | steve.schramm@smapdx.org

 

Food Services

Elizabeth Eastman | beth.eastman@smapdx.org