Top Bar

Off-Canvas

Faculty/Staff Directory

Faculty and staff may be contacted by phone at 503.228.8306 or via email addresses below. You may also send email to info@smapdx.org. Please address the subject line to the specific person.

Departments

Administration

Faculty

Student Leadership and Activities
Athletics
Counseling
English
Fine Arts
World Languages
Information Science
Mathematics
Physical Education and Health
Theology
Science
Social Science

Staff

Office Support
Attendance
Registrar
Admissions
Communications
Development/Alumnae
Finance
Maintenance
Food Services


St. Mary's Academy Administrative Team

Christina Friedhoff, President | chris.friedhoff@smapdx.org

  • BS Psychology, Lewis & Clark College

Nicole Foran, Principal | nicole.foran@smapdx.org

  • BA English, California State University
  • M.Ed. Portland State University

Emily Niedermeyer Becker '86, Vice President for Development | emily.becker@smapdx.org

  • SMA Alumna
  • BA Politics, Whitman College

Alena Kelly, Assistant Principal of Academics | alena.kelly@smapdx.org

  • BS Secondary Education, History, University of Portland
  • MST History, Portland State University

Liane Rae, Assistant Principal of Curriculum Design and Instruction | liane.rae@smapdx.org

  • BS General Science, Portland State University
  • MEd, Marylhurst University
  • Oregon AFA STEM Teacher of the Year 2015
  • Apple Distinguished Educator 2015
  • Henry Ford Foundation Teacher Educator 2016
  • PBS Oregon Digital Innovator 2015

Michele Taylor, Dean of Student Leadership and Activities | michele.taylor@smapdx.org

  • BS Sports Science and Program Management, Colorado State University
  • MA Public Administration, Portland State University

Patty Gorman, Dean of Students | patty.gorman@smapdx.org

  • BA Religious Studies, Gonzaga University


St. Mary's Academy Faculty


Student Leadership and Activities

Dr. Da Verne S. Bell, Director of Equity and Inclusion | daverne.bell@smapdx.org

  • Doctorate, Educational Leadership (Ed.D), Seattle University
  • Masters Public Service/Administration (M.A.), Seattle University
  • Psychology (B.A.), Seattle University
  • Immaculate Conception High School (SNJM) Seattle, Alumna

Jessica Acee, Student Leadership Coordinator | jessica.acee@smapdx.org

  • BA International Studies, Portland State University


Athletics

Anna Maria Lopez '78, Athletic Director | annamaria.lopez@smapdx.org

  • St. Mary's Academy Alumna
  • BA Physical Education, University of Southern California
  • MA Teaching, Portland State University
  • 2001 Oregon 4A Athletic Director of the Year
  • 2001 Oregon Athletic Coaches 4A Female Coach of the Year
  • 2003 St. Mary's Academy Award Recipient
  • 2009 Inducted into Oregon Sports Hall of Fame
  • 2012 Inducted into the CYO Hall of Fame
  • 2016 Oregon Sports Award Game Changer Award Recipient
  • 2017 Oregon 6A Athletic Director of the Year
  • 2018 NIAAA (National Athletic Administrators Association) State Award of Merit

Linda Woolverton, Athletics Department Assistant | linda.woolverton@smapdx.org

  • BA Elementary Education, University of Illinois
  • MA Sports Coaching, University of Denver


Counseling Department

Carolyn Gazeley, Department Chair and College Counselor | carolyn.gazeley@smapdx.org

  • BA, Economics and Psychology, Claremont McKenna College
  • MBA, Stanford University Graduate School of Business
  • Certificate in College Counseling, University of California at Los Angeles

Kimberly Crouch, Ph.D., College Counselor | kimberly.crouch@smapdx.org

  • BA, British History, University of the South
  • MA, Modern History, University of Oxford
  • Ph.D., British History, University of Oxford

Anne Hagge, Counselor | anne.hagge@smapdx.org

  • BSW, Portland State University
  • MSW, Portland State University

Kathleen Hicks, Counselor | kathleen.hicks@smapdx.org

  • BA Psychology, University of Maine
  • MA Social Work, University of Denver

Sister Carol Higgins, SNJM, Academic Support Center Teacher | carol.higgins@smapdx.org

  • D. Min. Washington Theological Union
  • M. Div. Marylhurst University
  • M. Ed. University of Portland
  • BA Religious Studies, Gonzaga University

Christine Moller, Academic Support Center Teacher | chris.moller@smapdx.org

  • BA, German, Math Ed., Purdue University
  • National Honor Society Tutoring Coordinator

Heather Murphy, Counselor | heather.murphy@smapdx.org

  • BA Art Therapy, Emmanuel College
  • MSW Social Work, Simmons College

Karlen Suga, College Counselor | karlen.suga@smapdx.org

  • BA Communication, University of Hawai’i at Hilo
  • MS Student Affairs in Higher Education, Colorado State University

Erica Wells, College Counseling Assistant | erica.wells@smapdx.org

  • BA Government and International Studies, University of Notre Dame
  • MA Interdisciplinary Studies, Marylhurst University


English Department

Anne Hainley, Department Chair | anne.hainley@smapdx.org

  • BA Liberal Arts, University of Notre Dame
  • M.Ed., University of Notre Dame

Sara Salvi '71 | sara.salvi@smapdx.org

  • St. Mary's Academy Alumna
  • BA English, University of California Davis
  • Higher Degree, University of Dublin Trinity College
  • MAT English and Spanish, Reed College
  • Faculty Professional Development Coordinator

Kirk Ellis | kirk.ellis@smapdx.org

  • BS Theatre Arts, Portland State University
  • MA English, Portland State University
  • M.Ed., Portland State University

Carrie Housley | carrie.housley@smapdx.org

  • BA English, Willamette University
  • MA English, University of Washington

Mary Maeve Barrett | mary.barrett@smapdx.org

  • BA English, Mansfield University
  • BA Women’s Studies, Mansfield University
  • Education certification, Mansfield University

Ashley Whitty '02 | ashley.whitty@smapdx.org

  • St. Mary's Academy Alumna
  • BA English, University of Oregon
  • MAT Secondary Education in English, Lewis and Clark College
  • MA English, Portland State University

Camille Vincent | camille.vincent@smapdx.org

  • BA English and Education Studies, University of Oregon
  • MAT, Lewis and Clark College

Ben Peterson | ben.peterson@smapdx.org

  • BA English and the Classics, University of Oregon
  • MA Classics, University of Oregon

Marsi Thelin | marsi.thelin@smapdx.org

  • BA French, University of Oregon
  • MA French, University of California, Santa Barbara


Fine Arts Department

Kathy Briggs, Department Chair | kathy.briggs@smapdx.org

  • MA Music Education, University of St. Thomas
  • BA Music Education, University of Wisconsin
  • Director, Marian Singers

Ashley McCullar | ashley.mccullar@smapdx.org

  • BFA Piano Performance, Carnegie Mellon
  • MM Conducting, Portland State University

Shannon More | shannon.more@smapdx.org

  • BA, Carroll College
  • MFA Directing, Minnesota State University
  • Theatre Director
  • B.A. in Arts Education, Santa Clara University
  • M.F.A Candidate in Dance, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

Travis Hatton | travis.hatton@smapdx.org

  • BA Music Theory and Composition, University of the Pacific
  • MM Orchestral Conduction, New England Conservatory of Music
  • DA Music, Ball State University

Sarah Brown | sarah.brown@smapdx.org

  • BFA Sculpture, Columbia College Chicago
  • MAT Visual Arts Education, Lewis & Clark College

Molly Kaplan | molly.kaplan@smapdx.org

  • BFA Printmaking, Pacific Northwest College of Art
  • MAT Visual Arts Education, Lews and Clark College

Jessica Zoller | jessica.zoller@smapdx.org

  • BFA Dance Performance and Choreography, Western Washing University
  • MFA Dance, University of Oregon


World Languages Department

Dena Stock-Marquez, Department Chair | dena.stock-marquez@smapdx.org

  • BA Spanish, Portland State University
  • MAT Spanish, Portland State University

Maron Faulkner | maron.faulkner@smapdx.org

  • BA French, Colorado College
  • MA French, New York University

Ben Peterson | ben.peterson@smapdx.org

  • BA English and the Classics, University of Oregon
  • MA Classics, University of Oregon

Art Rojas | art.rojas@smapdx.org

  • BA Spanish, Whitman College

Marsi Thelin | marsi.thelin@smapdx.org

  • BA French, University of Oregon
  • MA French, University of California, Santa Barbara

Shannon Sonn | shannon.sonn@smapdx.org

  • BA English Literature, Georgetown University
  • MA American Studies, Columbia University


Information Science Department

Ellie Gilbert, Department Chair | ellie.gilbert@smapdx.org

  • B.S. Secondary Education, Lubbock Christian University
  • M.Ed., Lewis & Clark College

Michael Bojorquez, Network and Systems Administrator | mike.bojorquez@smapdx.org

  • BS Social Science, Portland State University

Brette Doyle, Technology Director | brette.doyle@smapdx.org

  • Microsoft Certified Professional
  • I3 Certified Systems Administrator
  • United States Army Veteran
  • Electrical Engineering, Colorado School of Mines
  • Business Information Systems and Computer Science, University of Idaho

Kevin Frank | kevin.frank@smapdx.org

  • BS Mathematics, Azusa Pacific University


Mathematics Department

Mary Clare Metscher, Department Chair | maryclare.metscher@smapdx.org

  • BS Secondary Education, Advance Mathematics Endorsement
  • MS Mathematics Education for Teachers

Ellen Tevik | ellen.tevik@smapdx.org

  • BA Mathematics, University of Oregon
  • MAT Advanced Math, Oregon State University

Cynthia Berger | cynthia.berger@smapdx.org

  • BS Mathematics, Montana State University
  • M.Ed Math Education, Eastern Washington University

Brian Kelley | brian.kelley@smapdx.org

  • BA Religion, College of William and Mary
  • MAT Mathematics, Concordia University

Rachel Gardner | rachel.gardner@smapdx.org

  • BA Math, Gonzaga University
  • BA Spanish, Gonzaga University
  • MAT Teaching, Concordia University

Doug Howe | doug.howe@smapdx.org

  • BA Business Management, East Stroudsburg University
  • BS Mechanical Engineering, Portland State University
  • M.Ed, Portland State University

Luke Donahue | luke.donahue@smapdx.org

  • BA Mathematics, Lewis & Clark College
  • BA Physics, Lewis & Clark College


Physical Education and Health Department

Carrie Yerton, Department Chair | carrie.yerton@smapdx.org

  • BS Kinesiology, Humboldt State University
  • MAT, Concordia University
  • Certified Strength and Conditioning Specialist, NSCA
  • 200-Hour Yoga Teacher Training Certified

Jamie Gabbert | jamie.gabbert@smapdx.org

  • BS Physical Education, St. Cloud State University
  • Certified Strength and Conditioning Specialist, CSCS

Niki Brooks | niki.brooks@smapdx.org

  • BS Physical Activity/Exercise, Portland State University
  • M.Ed, Portland State University


Theology Department

Sister Carol Higgins, SNJM, Department Chair | carol.higgins@smapdx.org

  • D. Min. Washington Theological Union
  • M. Div. Marylhurst University
  • M. Ed. University of Portland
  • BA Religious Studies, Gonzaga University

Maria Fleming '83 | maria.fleming@smapdx.org

  • St. Mary's Academy Alumna
  • BA Spanish Language and Literature, Santa Clara University
  • M.Div., University of Notre Dame
  • M.Ed. Curriculum and Instruction Methods, Concordia University

James Haster | jim.haster@smapdx.org

  • BA Theology, Creighton University
  • MA Theological Studies, University of New York
  • M.Th Theology, University of New York

Daniel Hemmen | daniel.hemmen@smapdx.org

  • BS Theology, University of Portland

Randy Kollars, Campus Minister | randy.kollars@smapdx.org

  • BS Business Administration /Marketing, California State University at Sacramento
  • MA Pastoral Studies, Regis University, Denver

Margaret (Meg) O'Brien | meg.obrien@smapdx.org

  • BA Political Science, Boston College
  • MAT Education, Lewis & Clark College

Maura Timoney-Deville '09, Director of Retreats-Campus Ministry | maura.timoney@smapdx.org

  • St. Mary's Academy Alumna
  • BS International Health, Georgetown University

Caitlin Whitty '08, Service Coordinator | caitlin.whitty@smapdx.org

  • St. Mary's Academy Alumna
  • BA History, Clark Honors College, University of Oregon


Science Department

Maureen Daschel '77, Department Chair | maureen.daschel@smapdx.org

  • St. Mary's Academy Alumna
  • BS Science, Oregon State University
  • MAT Science, Lewis & Clark College
  • TIES Adviser

Cindi Hounton | cindi.hounton@smapdx.org

  • BA Chemistry, Portland State University
  • MA Education, University of New Mexico

Julia Stadler | julia.stadler@smapdx.org

  • BA Chemistry, Rice University
  • MS, Chemistry, University of California, Berkeley
  • MAT, Pacific University

Molly Marra | molly.marra@smapdx.org

  • BS Biology (minor in Theology), University of Notre Dame
  • Ph.D Neuroscience, Oregon Health and Science University

Mimi Loser | mimi.loser@smapdx.org

  • BA Chemistry and Music, Williams College
  • MA Education, Portland State University
  • Ph.D, Northwestern University

Rachel Sloan | rachel.sloan@smapdx.org

  • BA Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Lewis & Clark College
  • MAT, Lewis & Clark College

Luke Donahue | luke.donahue@smapdx.org

  • BA Mathematics, Lewis & Clark College
  • BA Physics, Lewis & Clark College


Social Science Department

Joan Nyland '78, Department Chair | joan.nyland@smapdx.org

  • St. Mary's Academy Alumna
  • BA History, University of Oregon
  • MA Education, University of Michigan

Matthew Vannelli | matthew.vannelli@smapdx.org

  • BA Environmental Studies, Ecological Anthropology, Binghamton University
  • MAT Secondary Education, Binghamton University

Alexa Duda | alexa.duda@smapdx.org

  • BS Secondary Education, University of Portland
  • M.Ed. Educational Leadership, University of Portland

Donald Housley | donald.housley@smapdx.org

  • BA History, Portland State University
  • MST Social Studies, Portland State University

Alexis Lund | alexis.lund@smapdx.org

  • BS Mathematics (minor in History), Montana State University
  • M.Ed Curriculum and Instruction: Social Studies, Concordia University

Ian Park | ian.park@smapdx.org

  • BS Political Science and Middle East Studies, University of Oregon
  • MAT Education, Concordia University


St. Mary's Academy Staff


Office Support

Karen Normandin, Assistant to the President | karen.normandin@smapdx.org

  • Business Administration, University of Oregon

McKenzie D’Ambrosio, Receptionist | mckenzie.dambrosio@smapdx.org

  • BS Special Education, Gonzaga University


Attendance Secretary

Lisa Thompson, Attendance Secretary | lisa.thompson@smapdx.org

  • BS Humanities, Western Oregon University


Registrar's Office

Liz Olsen, Registrar | liz.olsen@smapdx.org

  • Holy Names Academy (Seattle) Alumna
  • BA Political Science, Seattle Pacific University


Admissions Office

Mary Worlein '09, Admissions Director | mary.worlein@smapdx.org

  • St. Mary's Academy Alumna
  • BA Social Work, University of Portland

Kelsey Hui '10 | kelsey.hui@smapdx.org

  • St. Mary's Academy Alumna
  • BA Communication Studies, University of San Francisco


Marketing & Communications

Jennifer Masi '94, Director of Marketing and Communications | jennifer.masi@smapdx.org

  • St. Mary's Academy Alumna
  • BA Political Science, University of Washington
  • MA Marketing & Management, University of Massachusetts

Vanessa Paz, Assistant Director of Marketing and Communications | vanessa.paz@smapdx.org

  • BA Broadcast Journalism, California State University


Development/Alumnae

Emily Niedermeyer Becker '86, Vice President for Development | emily.becker@smapdx.org

  • St. Mary's Academy Alumna
  • BA Politics, Whitman College

Coralynn Arrigotti '83, Director of Leadership Giving | coralynn.arrigotti@smapdx.org

  • St. Mary's Academy Alumna
  • BS Communications, Portland State University

Hilary Baker, Director of Special Events | hilary.baker@smapdx.org

  • BS History, Portland State University
  • MA Teaching, Lewis and Clark College

Meagan Bataran, Director of Annual Giving | meagan.bataran@smapdx.org

  • BS Fisheries and Wildlife, Michigan State University

Annie Diess, Development Associate | annie.diess@smapdx.org

  • BA Business Administration, Santa Clara University

Kathleen McCabe, Director of Alumnae | kathleen.mccabe@smapdx.org

  • BA Sociology, University of Washington
  • MA Public Administration, Seattle University

Paige Silverston, Assistant Director of Special Events | paige.silverston@smapdx.org

  • BA Art, University of Oregon

Michael Scott, Development Database Manager | michael.scott@smapdx.org

  • BA English, Virginia Commonwealth University


Human Resources

Kari Forrer, Director of Human Resources | kari.forrer@smapdx.org

  • BS Human Resources, Portland State University


Finance Office

Emily Stotts, Director of Finance | emily.stotts@smapdx.org

  • BS Accounting, Linfield College

Sabrina Phillips, Assistant Director of Finance | sabrina.phillips@smapdx.org


Maintenance Department

Steve Schramm, Plant Manager | steve.schramm@smapdx.org


Food Services

Elizabeth Eastman | beth.eastman@smapdx.org