Top Bar

Oregon’s premier college-preparatory Catholic high school for young women

Mobile Menu Trigger

Off-Canvas

Faculty/Staff Directory

Faculty and staff may be contacted by phone at 503.228.8306 or via email addresses below. You may also send email to webmaster@smapdx.org. Please address the subject line to the specific person.

Departments

Administration

Faculty

Student Leadership and Activities
Athletics
Counseling
English
Fine Arts
World Languages
Information Science
Mathematics
Physical Education and Health
Theology
Science
Social Science

Staff

Office Support
Attendance
Registrar
Admissions
Communications
Development/Alumnae
Finance
Maintenance
Food Services


St. Mary's Academy Administrative Team

Christina Friedhoff, President [chris.friedhoff@smapdx.org]

  • BS Psychology, Lewis & Clark College

Kelli Clark, Principal [kelli.clark@smapdx.org]

  • BA Communications, Washington State University
  • MAT, Lewis & Clark College

Emily Niedermeyer Becker '86, Vice President for Development [emily.becker@smapdx.org]

  • SMA Alumna
  • BA Politics, Whitman College

Alena Kelly, Assistant Principal of Academics [alena.kelly@smapdx.org]

  • BS Secondary Education, History, University of Portland
  • MST History, Portland State University

Nicole Foran, Assistant Principal of Student Life [nicole.foran@smapdx.org]

  • BA English, California State University
  • M.Ed. Portland State University


St. Mary's Academy Faculty


Student Leadership and Activities

Michele Taylor, Student Activities Director [michele.taylor@smapdx.org]

  • BS Sports Science and Program Management, Colorado State University
  • MA Public Administration, Portland State University

Athletics

Anna Maria Lopez '78, Athletic Director [annamaria.lopez@smapdx.org]

  • St. Mary's Academy Alumna
  • BA Physical Education, University of Southern California
  • MA Teaching, Portland State University
  • 2001 Oregon 4A Athletic Director of the Year
  • 2001 Oregon Athletic Coaches 4A Female Coach of the Year
  • 2003 St. Mary's Academy Award Recipient
  • 2009 Inducted into Oregon Sports Hall of Fame

Falisha Wright, Assistant Athletic Director [falisha.wright@smapdx.org]

  • BA Public Administration, San Diego State University

Counseling Department

Meg Bowman, College Counseling Assistant [meg.bowman@smapdx.org]

  • BA History & English Literature, University of Washington

Kimberly Crouch, Ph.D., College Counselor [kimberly.crouch@smapdx.org]

  • BA, British History, University of the South
  • MA, Modern History, University of Oxford
  • Ph.D., British History, University of Oxford

Carolyn Gazeley [carolyn.gazeley@smapdx.org]

  • B.A., Economics and Psychology, Claremont McKenna College
  • M.B.A., Stanford University Graduate School of Business
  • Certificate in College Counseling, University of California at Los Angeles

Ellie Gilbert [ellie.gilbert@smapdx.org]

  • B.S. Secondary Education, Lubbock Christian University
  • M.Ed., Lewis & Clark College
  • Learning Center Teacher

Anne Hagge, Counselor [anne.hagge@smapdx.org]

  • BSW, Portland State University
  • MSW, Portland State University

Christine Moller, Learning Center Teacher [chris.moller@smapdx.org]

  • BA, German, Math Ed., Purdue University
  • National Honor Society Tutoring Coordinator

Amy Romm, Counselor [amy.romm@smapdx.org]

  • BA Psychology and Elementary Education, University of Pennsylvania
  • MS Ed School Counseling, Muhlenberg College

Allison Spector, Counselor [allison.spector@smapdx.org]

  • BA Psychology, Lewis and Clark College
  • BA Hispanic Studies, Lewis and Clark College
  • MA Social Work, Portland State University

Karlen Suga, College Counselor karlen.suga@smapdx.org

  • BA Communication, University of Hawai’i at Hilo
  • MS Student Affairs in Higher Education, Colorado State University

English Department

Francesca Englert Cronan '00, Team Lead [francesca.cronan@smapdx.org]

  • St. Mary's Academy Alumna
  • BA English, Occidental College
  • M.Ed., Portland State University

Sara Salvi '71 [sara.salvi@smapdx.org]

  • St. Mary's Academy Alumna
  • BA English, University of California Davis
  • Higher Degree, University of Dublin Trinity College
  • MAT English and Spanish, Reed College
  • Faculty Professional Development Coordinator

Kirk Ellis [kirk.ellis@smapdx.org]

  • BS Theatre Arts, Portland State University
  • MA English, Portland State University
  • M.Ed., Portland State University

Ellie Gilbert [ellie.gilbert@smapdx.org]

  • B.S. Secondary Education, Lubbock Christian University
  • M.Ed., Lewis & Clark College

Anne Hainley [anne.hainley@smapdx.org]

  • BA Liberal Arts, University of Notre Dame
  • M.Ed., University of Notre Dame

Carrie Housley [carrie.housley@smapdx.org]

  • BA English, Willamette University
  • MA English, University of Washington

Mary Maeve Barrett [mary.barrett@smapdx.org]

  • BA English, Mansfield University
  • BA Women’s Studies, Mansfield University
  • Education certification, Mansfield University

Ashley Whitty '02 [ashley.whitty@smapdx.org]

  • St. Mary's Academy Alumna
  • BA English, University of Oregon
  • MAT Secondary Education in English, Lewis and Clark College
  • MA English, Portland State University

Fine Arts Department

Kathy Briggs, Team Lead [kathy.briggs@smapdx.org]

  • MA Music Education, University of St. Thomas
  • BA Music Education, University of Wisconsin
  • Director, Marian Singers

Steve Colley [steve.colley@smapdx.org]

  • BA Art Education, University of Alaska
Kara Girod Shuster [kara.shuster@smapdx.org]

  • BA Dance, Loyola Marymount University
  • Professional training - ballet, pointe, tap, jazz, hip-hop and rumba

Ashley McCullar [ashley.mccullar@smapdx.org]

  • BFA Piano Performance, Carnegie Mellon
  • MM Conducting, Portland State University

Kathy Mitchell '64 [kathy.mitchell@smapdx.org]

  • St. Mary's Academy Alumna
  • BA Elementary Education, Marylhurst University
  • MAT Art, Lewis & Clark College

Shannon More [shannon.more@smapdx.org]

  • BA, Carroll College
  • MFA Directing, Minnesota State University
  • Theatre Director

Judy Parker [judy.parker@smapdx.org]

  • BA Music, Oberlin Conservatory

World Languages Department

Dena Stock-Marquez, Team Lead [dena.stock-marquez@smapdx.org]

  • BA Spanish, Portland State University
  • MAT Spanish, Portland State University

Maron Faulkner [maron.faulkner@smapdx.org]

  • BA French, Colorado College
  • MA French, New York University

Ben Peterson [ben.peterson@smapdx.org]

  • BA English and the Classics, University of Oregon
  • MA Classics, University of Oregon

Art Rojas [art.rojas@smapdx.org]

  • BA Spanish, Whitman College

Marsi Thelin [marsi.thelin@smapdx.org]

  • BA French, University of Oregon
  • MA French, University of California, Santa Barbara

Shannon Sonn [shannon.sonn@smapdx.org]

  • BA English Literature, Georgetown University
  • MA American Studies, Columbia University

Information Science Department

Alyssa Tormala, Team Lead [alyssa.tormala@smapdx.org]

  • B.A. English and B.A. Journalism, University of Utah
  • JD Stanford University
  • M.Ed., Portland State University

Michael Bojorquez, Technical Support Specialist [mike.bojorquez@smapdx.org]

  • BS Social Science, Portland State University
  • Head Coach Cross Country
  • Head Coach Track & Field

Shawn Daley, Innovation Director [shawn.daley@smapdx.org]

  • BA History, Loyola University
  • MAT Secondary Education, George Fox University
  • MA History, Portland State University

Cindy Daniels '71, Librarian [cindy.daniels@smapdx.org]

  • St. Mary's Academy Alumna
  • BS Elementary Education, Western Oregon State College
  • MLS Library Science, University of Washington

Brette Doyle, Technology Director [brette.doyle@smapdx.org]

  • Microsoft Certified Professional
  • I3 Certified Systems Administrator
  • United States Army Veteran

Peter Gabor, Computer Science peter.gabor@smapdx.org

  • BS Computer Science, MIT
  • PhD Computer Science, Princeton University

Mathematics Department

Ellen Tevik, Team Lead [ellen.tevik@smapdx.org]

  • BA Mathematics, University of Oregon
  • MAT Advanced Math, Oregon State University

Cynthia Berger [cynthia.berger@smapdx.org]

  • BS Mathematics, Montana State University
  • M.Ed Math Education, Eastern Washington University

Cynthia Heller [cynthia.heller@smapdx.org]

  • BS Mathematics, Portland State University

Brian Kelley [brian.kelley@smapdx.org]

  • BA Religion, College of William and Mary
  • MAT Mathematics, Concordia University

Rachel Gardner [rachel.gardner@smapdx.org]

  • BA Math, Gonzaga University
  • BA Spanish, Gonzaga University
  • MAT Teaching, Concordia University

Mary Clare Metscher [maryclare.metscher@smapdx.org]

  • BS Secondary Education, University of Portland

Physical Education and Health Department

Jamie Gabbert, Team Lead [jamie.gabbert@smapdx.org]

  • BS Physical Education, St. Cloud State University
  • Certified Strength and Conditioning Specialist, CSCS

Niki Brooks [niki.brooks@smapdx.org]

  • BS Physical Activity/Exercise, Portland State University
  • M.Ed, Portland State University

Carrie Yerton [carrie.yerton@smapdx.org]

  • BS Kinesiology, Humboldt State University
  • MAT, Concordia University
  • Certified Strength and Conditioning Specialist, NSCA

Theology Department

Patty Gorman, Team Lead [patty.gorman@smapdx.org]

  • BA Religious Studies, Gonzaga University
  • Teaches Introduction to Faith and Religion, and Psychology
  • Model United Nations advisor

Maria Fleming '83 [maria.fleming@smapdx.org]

  • St. Mary's Academy Alumna
  • BA Spanish Language and Literature, Santa Clara University
  • M.Div., University of Notre Dame
  • M.Ed. Curriculum and Instruction Methods, Concordia University

James Haster [jim.haster@smapdx.org]

  • BA Theology, Creighton University
  • MA Theological Studies, University of New York
  • M.Th Theology, University of New York

Daniel Hemmen [daniel.hemmen@smapdx.org]

  • BS Theology, University of Portland

Sister Carol Higgins, SNJM [carol.higgins@smapdx.org]

  • BA Religious Studies, Gonzaga University
  • M. Ed., University of Portland
  • M. Div. Theology, Marylhurst University
  • D. Min. Washington Theological Union

Randy Kollars, Campus Minister [randy.kollars@smapdx.org]

  • BS Business Administration /Marketing, California State University at Sacramento
  • MA Pastoral Studies, Regis University, Denver

Margaret (Meg) O'Brien [meg.obrien@smapdx.org]

  • BA Political Science, Boston College
  • MAT Education, Lewis & Clark College

Maura Timoney '09, Student Service Coordinator [maura.timoney@smapdx.org]

  • St. Mary's Academy Alumna
  • BS International Health, Georgetown University

Science Department

Maureen Daschel '77, Team Lead [maureen.daschel@smapdx.org]

  • St. Mary's Academy Alumna
  • BS Science, Oregon State University
  • MAT Science, Lewis & Clark College
  • TIES Adviser

Cindi Hounton [cindi.hounton@smapdx.org]

  • BA Chemistry, Portland State University
  • MA Education, University of New Mexico

Nancy Johnston [nancy.johnston@smapdx.org]

  • BA Biology, Linfield College

Julia Stadler [julia.stadler@smapdx.org]

  • BA Chemistry, Rice University
  • MS, Chemistry, University of California, Berkeley
  • MAT, Pacific University

Kirsten Thiel [kirsten.thiel@smapdx.org]

  • BS Biology, George Fox University
  • MAT Biology and Secondary Education, George Fox University

Molly Marra [molly.marra@smapdx.org]

  • BS Biology, University of Notre Dame
  • BS Theology, University of Notre Dame
  • Ph.D Neuroscience, Oregon Health and Science University

Social Science Department

Matthew Vannelli, Team Lead [matthew.vannelli@smapdx.org]

  • BA Environmental Studies, Ecological Anthropology, Binghamton University
  • MAT Secondary Education, Binghamton University

Alexa Duda alexa.duda@smapdx.org

  • BS Secondary Education, University of Portland
  • M.Ed. Educational Leadership, University of Portland

Donald Housley [donald.housley@smapdx.org]

  • BA History, Portland State University
  • MST Social Studies, Portland State University

Alexis Lund [alexis.lund@smapdx.org]

  • BA Mathematics, Montana State University

Joan Nyland '78 [joan.nyland@smapdx.org]

  • St. Mary's Academy Alumna
  • BA History, University of Oregon
  • MA Education, University of Michigan

Ian Park [ian.park@smapdx.org]

  • BS Political Science and Middle East Studies, University of Oregon
  • MAT Education, Concordia University


St. Mary's Academy Staff


Office Support

Karen Normandin, Assistant to the President [karen.normandin@smapdx.org]

  • Business Administration, University of Oregon

Patricia Thurston, Assistant to the Principal [pat.thurston@smapdx.org]

  • BS Education, Lewis & Clark College
  • MAT Education, Lewis & Clark College

Mary Goos, School Secretary [mary.goos@smapdx.org]

  • Kinman Business School, Spokane WA

McKenzie D’Ambrosio, Receptionist mckenzie.dambrosio@smapdx.org

  • BS Special Education, Gonzaga University

Attendance Secretary

Lisa Thompson, Attendance Secretary [lisa.thompson@smapdx.org]

  • BS Humanities, Western Oregon University

Registrar's Office

Liz Olsen, Registrar [liz.olsen@smapdx.org]

  • Holy Names Academy (Seattle) Alumna
  • BA Political Science, Seattle Pacific University

Admissions Office

Mary Worlein '09, Admissions Director [mary.worlein@smapdx.org]

  • St. Mary's Academy Alumna
  • BA Social Work, University of Portland

Caitlin Whitty '08, Admissions Assistant [caitlin.whitty@smapdx.org]

  • St. Mary's Academy Alumna
  • BA History, Clark Honors College, University of Oregon

Communications

David Roy, Director of Communications [david.roy@smapdx.org]

  • BA English, University of Louisiana

Development/Alumnae

Emily Niedermeyer Becker '86, Vice President for Development
emily.becker@smapdx.org

  • St. Mary's Academy Alumna
  • BA Politics, Whitman College

Coralynn Arrigotti '83, Director of Leadership Giving
coralynn.arrigotti@smapdx.org

  • St. Mary's Academy Alumna
  • BS Communications, Portland State University

Hilary Baker, Director of Special Events
hilary.baker@smapdx.org

  • BS History, Portland State University
  • MA Teaching, Lewis and Clark College

Katelyn Callaghan, Director of Alumnae
katelyn.callaghan@smapdx.org

  • BA Merchandising Management, Oregon State University
  • MA Fundraising Management, Columbia University

Annie Diess, Development Associate

annie.diess@smapdx.org

  • BA Business Administration, Santa Clara University

Lindsay Frickle, Director of Major Gifts
lindsay.frickle@smapdx.org

  • BA Political Science, University of Arizona
  • MA Educational Theater, New York University

Jessica LaVigne, Director of Annual Giving

jessica.lavigne@smapdx.org

  • BA Political Science, Pacific Lutheran University

Kendall Murphy, Assistant Director of Development
kendall.murphy@smapdx.org

  • BA Sociology, University of Colorado at Boulder

Kathryn Reiner, Assistant Director of Special Events
kat.reiner@smapdx.org

  • BA Communication and Culture, Indiana University in Bloomington

Michael Scott, Development Database Associate
michael.scott@smapdx.org

  • BA English, Virginia Commonwealth University

Finance Office

Rose Bontemps, Chief Financial Officer [rose.bontemps@smapdx.org]

Maintenance Department

Steve Schramm, Plant Manager [steve.schramm@smapdx.org]

Food Services
Elizabeth Eastman [beth.eastman@smapdx.org]