Top Bar

Oregon’s premier college-preparatory Catholic high school for young women

Mobile Menu Trigger

Off-Canvas

Faculty/Staff Directory


Faculty and staff may be contacted by phone at 503.228.8306 or via email addresses below. You may also send email to info@smapdx.org. Please address the subject line to the specific person.

Departments

Administration

Faculty

Student Leadership and Activities
Athletics
Counseling
English
Fine Arts
World Languages
Information Science
Mathematics
Physical Education and Health
Theology
Science
Social Science

Staff

Office Support
Attendance
Registrar
Admissions
Communications
Development/Alumnae
Finance
Maintenance
Food Services


St. Mary's Academy Administrative Team

Christina Friedhoff, President | chris.friedhoff@smapdx.org

  • BS Psychology, Lewis & Clark College

Nicole Foran, Principal | nicole.foran@smapdx.org

  • BA English, California State University
  • M.Ed. Portland State University

Emily Niedermeyer Becker '86, Vice President for Development | emily.becker@smapdx.org

  • SMA Alumna
  • BA Politics, Whitman College

Alena Kelly, Assistant Principal of Academics | alena.kelly@smapdx.org

  • BS Secondary Education, History, University of Portland
  • MST History, Portland State University

Patty Gorman, Dean of Students | patty.gorman@smapdx.org

  • BA Religious Studies, Gonzaga University


St. Mary's Academy Faculty


Student Leadership and Activities

Michele Taylor, Student Activities Director | michele.taylor@smapdx.org

  • BS Sports Science and Program Management, Colorado State University
  • MA Public Administration, Portland State University

Dr. Da Verne S. Bell, Director of Equity and Inclusion | daverne.bell@smapdx.org

  • Doctorate, Educational Leadership (Ed.D), Seattle University
  • Masters Public Service/Administration (M.A.), Seattle University
  • Psychology (B.A.), Seattle University
  • Immaculate Conception High School (SNJM) Seattle, Alumna

Athletics

Anna Maria Lopez '78, Athletic Director | annamaria.lopez@smapdx.org

  • St. Mary's Academy Alumna
  • BA Physical Education, University of Southern California
  • MA Teaching, Portland State University
  • 2001 Oregon 4A Athletic Director of the Year
  • 2001 Oregon Athletic Coaches 4A Female Coach of the Year
  • 2003 St. Mary's Academy Award Recipient
  • 2009 Inducted into Oregon Sports Hall of Fame

Falisha Wright, Assistant to the Athletic Director | falisha.wright@smapdx.org

  • BA Public Administration, San Diego State University


Counseling Department

Carolyn Gazeley, Department Chair and College Counselor | carolyn.gazeley@smapdx.org

  • B.A., Economics and Psychology, Claremont McKenna College
  • M.B.A., Stanford University Graduate School of Business
  • Certificate in College Counseling, University of California at Los Angeles

Kimberly Crouch, Ph.D., College Counselor | kimberly.crouch@smapdx.org

  • BA, British History, University of the South
  • MA, Modern History, University of Oxford
  • Ph.D., British History, University of Oxford

Anne Hagge, Counselor | anne.hagge@smapdx.org

  • BSW, Portland State University
  • MSW, Portland State University

Christine Moller, Learning Center Teacher | chris.moller@smapdx.org

  • BA, German, Math Ed., Purdue University
  • National Honor Society Tutoring Coordinator

Amy Romm, Counselor | amy.romm@smapdx.org

  • BA Psychology and Elementary Education, University of Pennsylvania
  • MS Ed School Counseling, Muhlenberg College

Allison Spector, Counselor | allison.spector@smapdx.org

  • BA Psychology, Lewis and Clark College
  • BA Hispanic Studies, Lewis and Clark College
  • MA Social Work, Portland State University

Karlen Suga, College Counselor | karlen.suga@smapdx.org

  • BA Communication, University of Hawai’i at Hilo
  • MS Student Affairs in Higher Education, Colorado State University

Emma Ensign-Church, College Counseling Assistant | emma.ensign-church@smapdx.org

  • BA Educational Studies & Hispanic Studies, Macalester College

Ian Park, Learning Center Teacher | ian.park@smapdx.org

  • BS Political Science and Middle East Studies, University of Oregon
  • MAT Education, Concordia University

English Department

Sara Salvi '71 | sara.salvi@smapdx.org

  • St. Mary's Academy Alumna
  • BA English, University of California Davis
  • Higher Degree, University of Dublin Trinity College
  • MAT English and Spanish, Reed College
  • Faculty Professional Development Coordinator

Kirk Ellis | kirk.ellis@smapdx.org

  • BS Theatre Arts, Portland State University
  • MA English, Portland State University
  • M.Ed., Portland State University

Ellie Gilbert | ellie.gilbert@smapdx.org

  • B.S. Secondary Education, Lubbock Christian University
  • M.Ed., Lewis & Clark College

Anne Hainley | anne.hainley@smapdx.org

  • BA Liberal Arts, University of Notre Dame
  • M.Ed., University of Notre Dame

Carrie Housley | carrie.housley@smapdx.org

  • BA English, Willamette University
  • MA English, University of Washington

Mary Maeve Barrett | mary.barrett@smapdx.org

  • BA English, Mansfield University
  • BA Women’s Studies, Mansfield University
  • Education certification, Mansfield University

Ashley Whitty '02 | ashley.whitty@smapdx.org

  • St. Mary's Academy Alumna
  • BA English, University of Oregon
  • MAT Secondary Education in English, Lewis and Clark College
  • MA English, Portland State University


Fine Arts Department

Kathy Briggs, Department Chair | kathy.briggs@smapdx.org

  • MA Music Education, University of St. Thomas
  • BA Music Education, University of Wisconsin
  • Director, Marian Singers

Steve Colley | steve.colley@smapdx.org

  • BA Art Education, University of Alaska
Kara Girod Shuster | kara.shuster@smapdx.org

  • BA Dance, Loyola Marymount University
  • Professional training - ballet, pointe, tap, jazz, hip-hop and rumba

Ashley McCullar | ashley.mccullar@smapdx.org

  • BFA Piano Performance, Carnegie Mellon
  • MM Conducting, Portland State University

Shannon More | shannon.more@smapdx.org

  • BA, Carroll College
  • MFA Directing, Minnesota State University
  • Theatre Director

Judy Parker | judy.parker@smapdx.org

  • BA Music, Oberlin Conservatory

Theresa McCaffrey | theresa.mccaffrey@smapdx.org

  • BA Humanities/Art History, University of Colorado, Boulder
  • MEd Curriculum and Instruction, Portland State University

World Languages Department

Dena Stock-Marquez, Department Chair | dena.stock-marquez@smapdx.org

  • BA Spanish, Portland State University
  • MAT Spanish, Portland State University

Maron Faulkner | maron.faulkner@smapdx.org

  • BA French, Colorado College
  • MA French, New York University

Ben Peterson | ben.peterson@smapdx.org

  • BA English and the Classics, University of Oregon
  • MA Classics, University of Oregon

Art Rojas | art.rojas@smapdx.org

  • BA Spanish, Whitman College

Marsi Thelin | marsi.thelin@smapdx.org

  • BA French, University of Oregon
  • MA French, University of California, Santa Barbara

Shannon Sonn | shannon.sonn@smapdx.org

  • BA English Literature, Georgetown University
  • MA American Studies, Columbia University


Information Science Department

Alyssa Tormala, Department Chair | alyssa.tormala@smapdx.org

  • B.A. English and B.A. Journalism, University of Utah
  • JD Stanford University
  • M.Ed., Portland State University

Michael Bojorquez, Network and Systems Administrator | mike.bojorquez@smapdx.org

  • BS Social Science, Portland State University


Cindy Daniels '71, Librarian | cindy.daniels@smapdx.org

  • St. Mary's Academy Alumna
  • BS Elementary Education, Western Oregon State College
  • MLS Library Science, University of Washington

Brette Doyle, Technology Director | brette.doyle@smapdx.org

  • Microsoft Certified Professional
  • I3 Certified Systems Administrator
  • United States Army Veteran
  • Electrical Engineering, Colorado School of Mines
  • Business Information Systems and Computer Science, University of Idaho

Liane Rae | liane.rae@smapdx.org

  • BS General Science, Portland State University
  • MEd, Marylhurst University
  • Oregon AFA STEM Teacher of the Year 2015
  • Apple Distinguished Educator 2015
  • Henry Ford Foundation Teacher Educator 2016
  • PBS Oregon Digital Innovator 2015

Mathematics Department

Ellen Tevik, Team Lead | ellen.tevik@smapdx.org

  • BA Mathematics, University of Oregon
  • MAT Advanced Math, Oregon State University

Cynthia Berger | cynthia.berger@smapdx.org

  • BS Mathematics, Montana State University
  • M.Ed Math Education, Eastern Washington University

Cynthia Heller | cynthia.heller@smapdx.org

  • BS Mathematics, Portland State University

Brian Kelley | brian.kelley@smapdx.org

  • BA Religion, College of William and Mary
  • MAT Mathematics, Concordia University

Rachel Gardner | rachel.gardner@smapdx.org

  • BA Math, Gonzaga University
  • BA Spanish, Gonzaga University
  • MAT Teaching, Concordia University

Mary Clare Metscher | maryclare.metscher@smapdx.org

  • BS Secondary Education, Advance Mathematics Endorsement
  • MS Mathematics Education for Teachers

Katy Muth | katy.muth@smapdx.org

  • BS Mathematics, University of Tennessee Knoxville
  • MS Secondary Education, University of Tennessee Knoxville


Physical Education and Health Department

Jamie Gabbert, Team Lead | jamie.gabbert@smapdx.org

  • BS Physical Education, St. Cloud State University
  • Certified Strength and Conditioning Specialist, CSCS

Niki Brooks | niki.brooks@smapdx.org

  • BS Physical Activity/Exercise, Portland State University
  • M.Ed, Portland State University

Carrie Yerton | carrie.yerton@smapdx.org

  • BS Kinesiology, Humboldt State University
  • MAT, Concordia University
  • Certified Strength and Conditioning Specialist, NSCA


Theology Department

Patty Gorman, Department Chair, Dean of Students | patty.gorman@smapdx.org

  • BA Religious Studies, Gonzaga University
  • Teaches Introduction to Faith and Religion, and Psychology
  • Model United Nations advisor

Maria Fleming '83 | maria.fleming@smapdx.org

  • St. Mary's Academy Alumna
  • BA Spanish Language and Literature, Santa Clara University
  • M.Div., University of Notre Dame
  • M.Ed. Curriculum and Instruction Methods, Concordia University

James Haster | jim.haster@smapdx.org

  • BA Theology, Creighton University
  • MA Theological Studies, University of New York
  • M.Th Theology, University of New York

Daniel Hemmen | daniel.hemmen@smapdx.org

  • BS Theology, University of Portland

Randy Kollars, Campus Minister | randy.kollars@smapdx.org

  • BS Business Administration /Marketing, California State University at Sacramento
  • MA Pastoral Studies, Regis University, Denver

Margaret (Meg) O'Brien | meg.obrien@smapdx.org

  • BA Political Science, Boston College
  • MAT Education, Lewis & Clark College

Maura Timoney-Deville '09, Director of Retreats- Campus Ministry | maura.timoney@smapdx.org

  • St. Mary's Academy Alumna
  • BS International Health, Georgetown University

Caitlin Whitty '08, Service Coordinator | caitlin.whitty@smapdx.org

  • St. Mary's Academy Alumna
  • BA History, Clark Honors College, University of Oregon


Science Department

Maureen Daschel '77, Department Chair | maureen.daschel@smapdx.org

  • St. Mary's Academy Alumna
  • BS Science, Oregon State University
  • MAT Science, Lewis & Clark College
  • TIES Adviser

Cindi Hounton | cindi.hounton@smapdx.org

  • BA Chemistry, Portland State University
  • MA Education, University of New Mexico

Nancy Johnston | nancy.johnston@smapdx.org

  • BA Biology, Linfield College

Julia Stadler | julia.stadler@smapdx.org

  • BA Chemistry, Rice University
  • MS, Chemistry, University of California, Berkeley
  • MAT, Pacific University

Kirsten Thiel | kirsten.thiel@smapdx.org

  • BS Biology, George Fox University
  • MAT Biology and Secondary Education, George Fox University

Molly Marra | molly.marra@smapdx.org

  • BS Biology (minor in Theology), University of Notre Dame
  • Ph.D Neuroscience, Oregon Health and Science University


Social Science Department

Matthew Vannelli, Team Lead | matthew.vannelli@smapdx.org

  • BA Environmental Studies, Ecological Anthropology, Binghamton University
  • MAT Secondary Education, Binghamton University

Alexa Duda | alexa.duda@smapdx.org

  • BS Secondary Education, University of Portland
  • M.Ed. Educational Leadership, University of Portland

Donald Housley | donald.housley@smapdx.org

  • BA History, Portland State University
  • MST Social Studies, Portland State University

Alexis Lund | alexis.lund@smapdx.org

  • BA Mathematics, Montana State University

Joan Nyland '78 | joan.nyland@smapdx.org

  • St. Mary's Academy Alumna
  • BA History, University of Oregon
  • MA Education, University of Michigan

Ian Park | ian.park@smapdx.org

  • BS Political Science and Middle East Studies, University of Oregon
  • MAT Education, Concordia University
  • Learning Center Teacher


St. Mary's Academy Staff


Office Support

Karen Normandin, Assistant to the President | karen.normandin@smapdx.org

  • Business Administration, University of Oregon

McKenzie D’Ambrosio, Receptionist | mckenzie.dambrosio@smapdx.org

  • BS Special Education, Gonzaga University


Attendance Secretary

Lisa Thompson, Attendance Secretary | lisa.thompson@smapdx.org

  • BS Humanities, Western Oregon University

Registrar's Office

Liz Olsen, Registrar | liz.olsen@smapdx.org

  • Holy Names Academy (Seattle) Alumna
  • BA Political Science, Seattle Pacific University


Admissions Office

Mary Worlein '09, Admissions Director | mary.worlein@smapdx.org

  • St. Mary's Academy Alumna
  • BA Social Work, University of Portland

Kelsey Hui '10 | kelsey.hui@smapdx.org

  • St. Mary's Academy Alumna
  • BA Communication Studies, University of San Francisco


Communications

Gina Rau, Director of Marketing and Communications | gina.rau@smapdx.org

  • BS Marketing, California State Polytechnic, Pomona

Helen Veyna, Marketing and Communications Specialist | helen.veyna@smapdx.org

  • MBA Business Administration, Portland State University
  • BA English and Spanish, Scripps College


Development/Alumnae

Emily Niedermeyer Becker '86, Vice President for Development |
emily.becker@smapdx.org

  • St. Mary's Academy Alumna
  • BA Politics, Whitman College

Coralynn Arrigotti '83, Director of Leadership Giving
coralynn.arrigotti@smapdx.org

  • St. Mary's Academy Alumna
  • BS Communications, Portland State University

Hilary Baker, Director of Special Events |
hilary.baker@smapdx.org

  • BS History, Portland State University
  • MA Teaching, Lewis and Clark College

Meagan Bataran, Director of Annual Giving | meagan.bataran@smapdx.org

Katelyn Callaghan, Director of Alumnae |
katelyn.callaghan@smapdx.org

  • BA Merchandising Management, Oregon State University
  • MA Fundraising Management, Columbia University

Annie Diess, Development Associate | annie.diess@smapdx.org

  • BA Business Administration, Santa Clara University

Lindsay Frickle, Director of Major Gifts |
lindsay.frickle@smapdx.org

  • BA Political Science, University of Arizona
  • MA Educational Theater, New York University

Kendall Murphy, Assistant Director of Development |

kendall.murphy@smapdx.org

  • BA Sociology, University of Colorado at Boulder

Paige Silverston | paigesilverston@smapdx.org

  • BA Art, University of Oregon

Michael Scott, Development Database Associate |
michael.scott@smapdx.org

  • BA English, Virginia Commonwealth University


Finance Office

Rose Bontemps, Chief Financial Officer | rose.bontemps@smapdx.org

Sabrina Phillips, Finance Office Assistant | sabrina.phillips@smapdx.org


Maintenance Department

Steve Schramm, Plant Manager | steve.schramm@smapdx.org


Food Services

Elizabeth Eastman | beth.eastman@smapdx.org